Gar-Field and Woodbridge Lacrosse Players Make All-District Teams

Seasons may have ended short, but student accolades are plentiful

 boys' lacrosse may not have qualified for this season's Cardinal District tournament, but for first year head coach Bruce Buskey, the 6-8 regular season record was a success. Especially since Buskey had never even played the game of lacrosse before.

“I spent many Sundays in preseason and during the season watching videos and reading about sets, defense and drills,” said Buskey.

The team's ability to complete several come-from-behind wins, coupled with the fact that the Indians defeated Forest Park for the first time in school history, gives Buskey reason to be optimistic about next season, despite the fact that he will lose 14 graduating seniors.

Of those graduating are leading scorers LaRon Hinton—who has committed to play at Limestone College and finished the season with 53 goals and 17 assists—and Zachary Horrocks who scored 22 goals.

Gar-Field Boys Lacrosse Cardinal All-District selections 

LaRon Hinton – 1st Team Midfield
Joseph Pouliot – 2nd Team Attack
Clifford Strickland – Honorable Mention Defense
Sean Amjad – Honorable Mention Defense
Camron Burke – Honorable Mention Defense
Dana McAfee – Honorable Mention Midfield
Frank Jones – Honorable Mention Midfield
Zachary Horrocks – Honorable Mention Attack

Gar-Field Girls' Lacrosse Cardinal All-District selections

Kendra Brown – Honorable Mention Attack
Gio Blanco – Honorable Mention Attack
Lynda Nguyen – Honorable Mention Midfield
Kathy Diaz – Honorable Mention Defense
Kathy Nunez – Honorable Mention Goalie

Woodbridge Boys' Lacrosse Cardinal All-District selections

Steven Estoclet – 1st Team Defense
Brad Kostrebzski – 2nd Team Long-stick Midfield
Chris Kashmer – 2nd Team Defense
Dan Stroup – 2nd Team Midfield
James Vuillemot – 2nd Team Attack
Mike Wallin – Honorable Mention Goalie
Aaron Shields – Honorable Mention Defense
Will Freeman – Honorable Mention Midfield
Elijah Tesnew – Honorable Mention Midfield
John Garrity – Honorable Mention Midfield
Hunter Pryor – Honorable Mention Attack
Clay Harrell – Honorable Mention Attack
Vinny Williams – Honorable Mention Attack

Woodbridge Girls' Lacrosse Cardinal All-District selections

Kim King – 1st Team Attack
KC Buckley – 1st Team Midfield
Molly Glynn – 1st Team Defense
Diana Buckley – 2nd Team Midfield
Erin Buckley – 2nd Team Midfield
Yanira Deleo – 2nd Team Defense
Brena Murphy – Honorable Mention Midfield
Heather Kline – Honorable Mention Goalie

Check back with Patch tomorrow for soccer All-District results. 


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »